Everything You Need to Know About 2014 World Cup Draw

The 2014 FIFA World Cup doesn’t start until June but on Friday we’ll find out which teams will play against each other. FIFA officials will convene in Brazil and draw a tournament schedule for the 32-teams that qualified for the tournament.


Before the draw teams are divided by rank and region into four pots, literally, in the form of lottery balls. The balls will be plucked in a FIFA ceremony in front of representatives from all the 32 participating nations at the Costa do Sauipe resort, north of the city of Salvador.

The draw is a bafflingly complicated (and controversial) tradition but “Open Source” host Leon Krauze explains everything you need know about the draw, including what all this talk about the “group of death” means.


The draw will be beamed around the world to more than 193 countries including the United States. You can watch the draw Friday morning (8:30 a.m. PST on ESPN2 and Univision) live from Brazil.

The full list of the 32-countries that will be competing in the 2014 World Cup is below.

Qualified nations out of AFRICA

  • Algeria
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • Ivory Coast

Qualified nations out of EUROPE

  • Belgium
  • Bosnia-Hercegovina
  • Croatia
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland

Qualified nations out of CONCACAF (North and Central America)

  • Costa Rica
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • United States
  • Qualified nations out of SOUTH AMERICA
  • Argentina
  • Brazil (hosts)
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Uruguay

Qualified nations out of ASIA

  • Australia
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • South Korea

Share This Story

Get our newsletter