Happy Equal Pay Day From the Country's Most Handsomely Paid Public Employees

We may earn a commission from links on this page.

Today is Equal Pay Day, a symbolic and sad holiday invented in the ‘90s to remind us yearly of how little women are paid for their labor in comparison to men. A few weeks ago, ESPN published a list of the highest-paid public employees in each state, as of 2017, along with their salaries during that year. (You can see it broken down along with average state salaries, as well, if you’re so inclined.)

Many of these exorbitantly compensated people, you may notice, are people who make their money instructing (unpaid) young men how to best throw a ball around. Some of them, as our sporty friends over at Deadspin noted in 2013, also get additional cash from TV deals and boosters, in addition to your very own hard-earned tax dollars. From what I can gather, some of them are not even very good at their jobs: The people over at Rutgers University have paid their coach $2.1 million a year for two seasons to win exactly six games, which comes out to more than $600,000 a game.

But perhaps, in addition to all these other indignities, you will notice something else about 49 out of these 50 salaried professionals.


Happy Equal Pay Day, ladies!

ALABAMA: Nick Saban, Football coach, $11.1 million

SOUTH CAROLINA: Dabo Swinney, Football coach, $8.5 million

KENTUCKY: John Calipari, Basketball coach, $7.1 million

MICHIGAN: Jim Harbaugh, Football coach, $7 million

OHIO: Urban Meyer, Football coach, $6.4 million

FLORIDA: Jimbo Fisher, Former football coach, $5.7 million

ARIZONA: Rich Rodriguez, Former football coach, $5.6 million

TEXAS: Tom Herman, Football coach, $5.5 million

KANSAS: Bill Self, Basketball coach, $4.8 million

PENNSYLVANIA: James Franklin, Football coach, $4.6 million

IOWA: Kirk Ferentz, Football coach, $4.6 million

MISSISSIPPI: Dan Mullen, Former football coach, $4.5 million

OKLAHOMA: Mike Gundy, Football coach, $4.2 million

ARKANSAS: Bret Bielema, Former football coach, $4.2 million

WASHINGTON: Chris Petersen, Football coach, $4.1 million

TENNESSEE: Butch Jones, Former football coach, $4.1 million

GEORGIA: Kirby Smart, Football coach, $3.8 million

UTAH: Kyle Wittingham, Football coach, $3.7 million

CALIFORNIA: Jim Mora, Former football coach, $3.6 million

WEST VIRGINIA: Bob Huggins, Basketball coach, $3.6 million

LOUISIANA: Ed Orgeron, Football coach, $3.5 million

MINNESOTA: PJ Fleck, Football coach, $3.5 million

VIRGINIA: Bronco Mendenhall, Football coach, $3.4 million

INDIANA: Archie Miller, Basketball coach, $3.2 million

WISCONSIN: Paul Chryst, Football coach, $3.2 million

CONNECTICUT: Kevin Ollie, Basketball coach, $3.2 million

ILLINOIS: Lovie Smith, Football coach, $3 million

OREGON: Willie Taggart, Football coach, $2.9 million

NEBRASKA: Mike Riley, Former Football coach, $2.9 million

COLORADO: Mike MacIntyre, Football coach, $2.8 million

MARYLAND: Mark Turgeon, Basketball coach, $2.6 million

MISSOURI: Barry Odom, Football coach, $2.4 million

NORTH CAROLINA: Larry Fedora, Football coach, $2.3 million

NEW JERSEY: Chris Ash, Football coach, $2.1 million

IDAHO: Bryan Harsin, Football coach, $1.6 million

WYOMING: Craig Bohl, Football coach, $1.4 million salary

NEVADA: Eric Musselman, Basketball coach, $1 million

MASSACHUSETTS: Michael Collins, Chancellor and SVP, Health Sciences at UMass System: $1 million

RHODE ISLAND: Dan Hurley, Basketball coach, $950,000

NEW MEXICO: Bob Davie, Football coach, $822,960

HAWAII: David J. Engle, Neurosurgeon, $786,000

NORTH DAKOTA: Joshua Wynne, Dean of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences: $674,600 salary in 2017

NEW YORK: Lewis Pasternak, Anesthesiologist, Stony Brook University Hospital: $673,600

SOUTH DAKOTA: Mary D. Nettleman, Dean of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine: $577,700

VERMONT: Frederick C. Morin III, $559,600 salary in 2017

VERMONT: Frederick C. Morin III, Dean of the University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine: $559,600

ALASKA: Keith Meyer, President of Alaska Pipeline Development Corp: $550,000

NEW HAMPSHIRE: Mark W. Huddleston, President of University of New Hamphire: $492,000

MONTANA: Clay Christian, Higher Education commissioner: $309,000 salary in 2017

MAINE: James H. Page, Chancellor of University of Maine: $277,500

DELAWARE: Mark Holodick, School District superintendent: $246,000