Getty Images

Twitter just announced a slew of new features it will roll out over the next couple of days in an attempt to compete with other messaging services. In order to make its direct messaging feature more "dynamic," there will now be web link previews, read receipts and typing indicators.

The internet went particularly crazy over the addition of read receipts to both private and group direct messages. You will now know for sure when someone is avoiding that dank meme you sent them. And everyone's favorite practice—sliding into the DMs—will cause even more anxiety.

But don't worry: you can opt out of the crazy-making technology most people go to great lengths to avoid. To turn off read receipts, simply go to the "Security and privacy" tab in your settings on desktop, scroll all the way down, and uncheck the box.

Deputy editor of Real Future.